Skip to content Skip to main navigation Report an accessibility issue

Division of Biology 2016 Grad Student Awards

The Division of Biology has announced the winners of the 2016 Graduate Student Awards!  Congratulations, all!

Alexander Hollaender Graduate Fellowship:

  • The Alexander Hollaender Graduate Fellowship is made possible through an endowment fund contributed by Dr. and Mrs. Alexander Hollaender. In 1944, Dr. Hollaender established the Division of Biology at Oak Ridge National Laboratory and was its director until 1967. Hollaender had close ties to East Tennessee and expressed the wish that strong preference in awarding fellowships be given to students from this region. The Fellowship Committee will consider academic qualifications, geographical origin, and scientific/ professional promise.  The Fellowship awardees receive $6,000 for one academic year.

Rachel Wooliver (EEB, Schweitzer Lab)
Ian Ware (EEB, Bailey Lab)

Fite Award:

  • This $1000 award recognizes an outstanding graduate student in the Division of Biology who demonstrates professional promise through an excellent academic record and interest in research and scholarship.

Zach Marion (EEB, Fitzpatrick Lab)
Kristin Holbrook (BCMB)
Caroline Rempe (GST)

Cokkinias Award:

Arkadipta Bakshi (BCMB)

Biology Teaching Award:

Chelsi Cassilly (Micro)